Ocean City Hurricane Sandy Update, 3:15 p.m.

Posted on October 29, 2012

0


A deep roadside ditch overflowing at about low tide Monday afternoon.

West Ocean City 3:15 p.m. Monday. I understand the eye of Hurricane Sandy is about 72 miles northeast of Ocean City, Maryland at this hour. We’re experiencing heavy gusts of wind, possibly the highest we’ll get, because the storm is passing so close. Not sustained high winds here in West Ocean City, but frequent gusts.

I walked around West Ocean City from 2 p.m. to 2:35 p.m., and returned soaked to the bone. This morning’s ankle-deep water had drained from the streets. Got some good pictures which I’ll post later (after I  take a nap). The water in the Sinepuxent Bay, the coastal bay that separates Ocean City from West Ocean City, was high in the yards of the waterfront houses in this neighborhood. And this was at LOW TIDE. The water is rising now and will soon be lapping at the base of houses closest to the bay.

A deep roadside ditch overflowing at about low tide Monday afternoon.

Water in our roadside ditches and at the edges of the road was also beginning to rise as I returned to the house. I think the rise in the ditches was more from the steady rain than the tide. The ditches are full and there’s no place for the water to go but up.

The tide will be rising from now until around 8 p.m. tonight. I have a feeling all the streets and yards in this neighborhood will be flooded at high tide this evening. The only questions is: How deep?

As I was walking back to the house, one gust of wind hit me so hard it stopped me in my tracks. Now the wind is gusting much higher and more frequently. I would guess we’re getting gusts of 60 mph or higher.

If you wish, please take a moment to click on the free email subscription button, third item down in the sidebar.

— John Hayden

Posted in: Life, Maryland, News