Eastern Shore Blogging: On Coastal Connection, 88.3

Posted on April 13, 2011

0



If you’re interested in blogging, particularly blogging on the Eastern Shore of Maryland, you’ll want to catch Brian Russo’s Coastal Connection show on 88.3 FM, the NPR news and public affairs station in Ocean City.  The show is scheduled to air on Friday, Apr. 15, at noon and 8 p.m.

Brian interviews three bloggers for a sort of round-table general introduction to the state of blogging on the Shore. I was happy to accept an invitation to participate, along with Joe Albero of SBYNEWS, a blog that focuses on Salisbury, and G.A. Harrison, a contributing writer at SBYNEWS.

Listeners can probably pick up the 88.3 FM broadcast signal just about anyplace on the Eastern Shore. Listeners in other areas can hear the interview at noon and 8 p.m. Friday via the Web. Go here and click “Listen.”

BLOGGER AT WORK. Here you see the worldwide headquarters of the Hayden blogging empire.

My participation in the interview is based on my work here, at the Ocean City Blog, published at the url, http://www.MarylandOnMyMind.com, which I started in October 2007. The blog is mostly about the ebb and flow of life and the seasons in Ocean City, these days, with occasional comments on Maryland politics. The blog has a tighter focus on Ocean City since I started another blog, Dispatches from ConsterNation, in 2009, as an outlet for my views on political and economic change from a Boomer perspective.  Dispatches from ConsterNation can be found at http://LifeAfterSixty.Wordpress.com.

The views I express on the Coastal Connection interview are my own. I represent only myself and my two blogs.

The interview invitation sent to bloggers said, “We’re interested in talking about the role blogs play in the media landscape on the Eastern Shore, and also dig a bit into the ethics and day-to-day challenges of blogging.” That’s a mouthful for one 20-minute segment, but I think we all did a good job in the time allowed. The interview was taped in Ocean City on Tuesday for airing Friday.

I should acknowledge that I am aware of the back-story here.  You may find it mentioned at any number of other sources. However, the back-story does not involve me or my blogs; I don’t intend to comment on it, unless it becomes necessary for clarification.

I believe the interview stands on its own as a general introduction to blogging on the Shore. If it’s well-received, Brian Russo may decide to expand it to a series on blogging. You can learn more about Coastal Connections and Brian Russo by clicking here. You can listen to audio of  past Coastal Connections interviews here. Ocean City 88.3 is affiliated with WAMU, the NPR station in Washington.

— John Hayden

