The Lower Eastern Shore (District 38) Democratic Team for 2010

Posted on September 18, 2010



Delegate (and future Senator) Jim Mathias was the landslide winner in Tuesday’s Democratic primary election for Maryland State Senate in District 38, with 86 percent of the vote.

Congratulations to Del. Norm Conway and Mayor Gee Williams of Berlin, who won strong endorsements from Democratic voters in the primary election for House of Delegates. Following are unofficial results with all District 38B precincts reporting. Absentee and provisional votes are not included.

  • Norman H. Conway . . . . . . . 5,051 votes      54.91 percent
  • Gee Williams . . . . . . . . . . . . .2,954 votes      32.12 percent
  • Bernard John Hayden . . . . . .1,193 votes       12.97 percent

In District 38A, Michael McCready was unopposed in the Democratic primary for delegate.

The District 38 Democratic team — Jim Mathias, Norm Conway, Gee Williams, and Mike McCready — offers the best and most experienced leadership for the Lower Eastern Shore.



District 38 includes all of Worcester and Somerset Counties, and about half of Wicomico County, including parts of Salisbury. District 38 elects one member of the Maryland State Senate.

For representation in the House of Delegates, District 38 is divided into two sub-districts, 38A and 38B. District 38A elects one delegate and includes all of Somerset County and the south-central part of Wicomico County. District 38B elects two delegates and includes all of Worcester County and the eastern portion of Wicomico County.

Much more news and analysis regarding the 2010 election in District 38 and beyond to come in future posts on Maryland On My Mind.

— John Hayden