Snow in Ocean City: Can You Top This?

Posted on January 30, 2010

0


The view, such as it is, next to the snow-covered marsh in West Ocean City. The snow was coming down hard when this photo was taken. Visibility is limited. You might be able to see the outline of Ocean City across the bay.

The view, such as it is, at the end of a street in West Ocean City, looking over the snow-covered marsh at right. The snow was coming down hard when this photo was taken. Visibility is limited. You can hardly see the outline of Ocean City across the bay.

The snow is between 7 and 11 inches deep here in West Ocean City, depending on where you measure, at 5:50 p.m. Saturday. Not surprising, considering they’ve reported 10 inches or more snow in Richmond and Norfolk, and the storm has been tracking northeast.

Snow was 6 inches deep on top of this trash can when I took this photo about 2:30 p.m. Saturday in West Ocean City. Three hours later, I measured the snow on that handrail at 8 inches.

Snow was 6 inches deep on top of this trash can when I took this photo about 2:30 p.m. Saturday in West Ocean City. Three hours later, I measured the snow on that handrail at 8 inches.

The snow continues to fall briskly. It is cold and windy on the Eastern Shore tonight. The thermometer on my back porch reads 18 degrees. That would make the wind-chill around zero. Temperatures will be even lower on the interior of the Eastern Shore tonight than they are here at the edge of the ocean. I am not going out there again tonight, at least not unless somebody pays me.

Snow on the back steps early in the afternoon. About 3 inches of snow had fallen at the time this photo was taken.

I measured 8 inches of snow on a narrow, exposed handrail, 11 inches on top of my car, 11 inches in the driveway. The snow has been blowing around considerably, so some of it is in drifts. I didn’t measure drifts, only flat snow. Also, a lot of snow has blown off the roofs, and landed somewhere. How do you account for that, if you’re trying to get a scientific measurement?

Usually, we have milder weather near the ocean. It is possible that this southeastern-most corner of Maryland’s Eastern Shore is getting the heaviest snowfall in the state today.

A thin film of snow covers the screen door. If you look closely, you can see the shadowy outline of trees outside.

I see that Maryland On My Mind is getting some search-engine hits from people seeking the record snowfall for Ocean City. I will try to find out.

More photos to come soon.

