2010 – Year of Real Estate Growth in Montgomery County?

Posted on January 15, 2010

0


My sister, Eileen, who is a Realtor, knows a lot more about real estate than I do. She is somewhat optimistic about the outlook for residential real estate in the Washington suburbs during 2010. You can learn more about Maryland real estate at Eileen’s Web site, http://www.EileenCriggar.ReMax.com.

I suspect Eileen is correct, at least regarding Montgomery and surrounding counties. Whether other parts of Maryland or the U.S. will see improvement in the housing market remains to be seen. (Regarding job growth, I personally don’t expect much if any improvement in 2010, even in metro D.C., which has traditionally been recession-resistant.)

Eileen’s comments follow:

National Association of Realtors’ Outlook

“If 2009 was the year of economic recovery, 2010 will be the year of growth,” reports National Association of Realtors Chief Economist, Lawrence Yun. The number of existing-home sales rose in 2009 by 2 percent over 2008, mainly on the shoulders of the lower-end market fueled by first time home buyers and renewed interest from investors. Yun is forecasting an increase of 13.6 percent in 2010 with continued strength in the lower-end market, which has trickled up to kick start the upper-end market. We are looking forward to the economic recovery continuing, with the hope that the job market will improve along with the housing market.

“Treating You Like Family”

As I dive into the new year, I continue to work with every client like they are “family”. I really do care about every detail of your transaction and want you to understand each step in the buying and selling process. I have the experience and expertise to help you make the best decisions along the way. I really do “treat you like family” because I am committed to focusing on every single detail of your sale or purchase “like it was my own”.

— Eileen Criggar, ReMax Realtor (e-mail: eileencriggar@mris.com)

Eileen Criggar

Eileen Criggar

Posted in: Economy, Maryland