Two Perfectly Good Years, Used Up Blogging

Posted on October 4, 2009

1


The blog you’re reading marks its second anniversary today. The first post went up Oct. 4, 2007. By coincidence, not plan, this is post Number 300.

[picapp src=”0303/0000303556.jpg?adImageId=4978588&imageId=306845″ width=”337″ height=”506″ /]

Maryland On My Mind has had more than 65,000 hits. Zero to 65,000 in two years. Not a speed record maybe, but not bad for a regional blog that’s updated once every two or three days.  None of this would have been possible without the invaluable support of  Wordpress.com. That support is free, not to mention priceless. Thank you, WordPress! BTW, what do I have to do to get Maryland On My Mind into the coveted “Freshly Pressed” list on the WordPress homepage?

The geographic areas covered by the blog are Maryland, America, and planet Earth, in that order. The blog used up a lot of words on the 2008 presidential election, and I expect to waste many more words on the 2010 elections in Maryland.

I’d like to ignore the present economic unpleasantness; but I probably won’t be able to avert my eyes. Has unemployment hit 10 percent in the U.S. yet? Is it safe to come out from under the bed?

“All politics is local,” Tip O’Neill said, and he might have added that all life is local, too. “Think Globally, Act Locally.”  Accordingly,  Maryland On My Mind has a pronounced local flavor. More than any other blog in Maryland, I think it’s fair to say, Maryland On My Mind reports and reflects on happenings in Ocean City. Year-round, I might add.

I don’t have to work very hard to find stuff to write about. Change is always changing; news is always happening; very little in Ocean City is too insignificant to go unnoticed by your fearless reporter. The temperature; the price of gasoline; what’s new on the boardwalk; what happened 30 years ago on the boardwalk. Have I left anything out?

Two years is a medium long time. Long enough for the economic bubble to collapse, long enough to elect the first black president. Two years is long enough to get married, or write a book, or find a good job. And all I have to show for it is this blog and this tattoo. Actually, I haven’t had time to get the tattoo, but I’ve thought about it.

Here are my goals for the coming two years: To predict the next governor of Maryland no later than the day before the  election. To consistently average 1,000 hits a week. To stop wasting time and start setting higher goals.

And to discover a killer application for blogging. Just one killer app, that’s all I ask.

— Bernie Hayden

Tagged: