Barack Obama Wins in Maryland

Posted on November 5, 2008


Sen. Barack Obama captured Maryland’s 10 electoral votes in the presidential election. The incomplete results Wednesday morning are Barack Obama, 1,160,347 (56.9 percent) and John McCain, 842,673 (41.3 percent). Obama’s victory margin will be significantly increased when the votes are reported from Prince George’s County.

Barack Obama, a Democrat, won in Maryland by rolling up big margins in the four high-population jurisdictions: Baltimore City, Baltimore County, Montgomery County and Prince Georges County. Obama also won Howard County and Charles County.

But Maryland continues to have a distinct blue-red divide. Eighteen counties voted for McCain, the Republican, including all the Eastern Shore Counties and all the Western Maryland Counties. Baltimore City, Montgomery County and Prince George’s County are deep blue Democratic. Baltimore County and Howard County are predominantly blue counties in statewide elections, but can be carried by a strong Republican candidate. Fast-growing Charles County in Southern Maryland is now a blue county.

After voting for Republican Bob Ehrlich in 2002, Baltimore County voted for Democrat John Kerry by a narrow margin in the 2004 presidential election. Martin O’Malley, a Democrat, won Baltimore County by a significant margin in 2006, and now the county has voted for Barack Obama in 2008. However, much of Baltimore County is friendly to Republican candidates for the General Assembly. It is too soon to say that Baltimore County is safe for Democrats in statewide elections.

Go to the Maryland State Board of Elections site to see how your county voted. — Bernie Hayden